Music Form: Chamber Music: Piano Trio

Beethoven: Piano Trio in B-flat major, Op. 97 “Archduke”

Beethoven: Piano Trios Op. 1 & 97 ‘Archduke’, 14 Variations, Allegrettos $15.99

The Piano Trio in B-flat major, Op. 97, by Ludwig van Beethoven is a piano trio for piano, violin, and cello, finished in 1811. It is commonly referred to as the Archduke Trio, because it was dedicated to Archduke Rudolph of Austria, an amateur pianist who was a friend and composition student of Beethoven.

The trio was written late in the composer’s so-called “middle period”. He began composing it in the summer of 1810, and completed it in March 1811.

Although the “Archduke Trio” is sometimes numbered as “No. 7”, the numbering of Beethoven’s twelve piano trios is not standardized, and in other sources the Op. 97 trio may be shown as having a different number, if any.

1. Allegro moderato

2. Allegro

3. Andante cantabile

4. Allegro moderato

error: Content is protected !! Contact if you wish to download this content
%d bloggers like this: