Clara Schumann: 3 Romances for violin and piano, op. 22

Clara Schumann (née Clara Josephine Wieck; 13 September 1819 – 20 May 1896) was a German musician and composer, considered one of the most distinguished pianists of the Romantic era. She exerted her influence over a 61-year concert career, changing the format and repertoire of the piano recital and the tastes of the listening public. Her husband was the composer Robert Schumann. Together they encouraged Johannes Brahms, and she was the first pianist to give public performances of some of Brahms’s works, notably the Variations and Fugue on a Theme by Handel.

The three Romances were composed in 1853 and dedicated to Joseph Joachim, who performed them for George V of Hanover. He declared them a “marvellous, heavenly pleasure.”

Three Romances for Violin and Piano, Op. 22

  1. Andante molto
  2. Allegretto (2:54)
  3. Leidenschaftlich Schnell (5:11)

Joseph Silverstein, violin & Veronica Jochum, piano
error: Content is protected !! Contact if you wish to download this content
%d bloggers like this: