Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue

George Gershwin 1937.jpg

File:Rhapsody in Blue bb1-2.png Rhapsody in Blue is a musical composition by George Gershwin for solo piano and jazz band written in 1924, which combines elements of classical music with jazz-influenced effects. The composition was orchestrated by Ferde Grofé three times, in 1924, in 1926, and finally in 1942. The piece received its premiere in a concert entitled An Experiment in Modern Music, which was held on February 12, 1924, in Aeolian Hall, New York, by Paul Whiteman and his band with Gershwin playing the piano. The editors of the Cambridge Music Handbooks opined that “The Rhapsody in Blue (1924) established Gershwin’s reputation as a serious composer and has since become one of the most popular of all American concert works.”

Work Name: Rhapsody in Blue

Key: B

Form: Rhapsody for Piano and Jazz Orchestra

Composer: George Gershwin

Year(s): 1924

Period: 20th Century

Cataloged Number:  n/a


error: Content is protected !! Contact if you wish to download this content
%d bloggers like this: