Leoš Janáček

Leoš Janáček (1854-1928) was a Czech composer, musical theorist, folklorist, publicist and teacher. He was inspired by Moravian and other Slavic folk music to create an original, modern musical style

Until 1895 he devoted himself mainly to folkloristic research and his early musical output was influenced by contemporaries such as Antonín Dvořák. His later, mature works incorporate his earlier studies of national folk music in a modern, highly original synthesis, first evident in the opera Jenůfa, which was premiered in 1904 in Brno. The success of Jenůfa (often called the “Moravian national opera”) at Prague in 1916 gave Janáček access to the world’s great opera stages. Janáček’s later works are his most celebrated. They include operas such as Káťa Kabanová and The Cunning Little Vixen, the Sinfonietta, the Glagolitic Mass, the rhapsody Taras Bulba, two string quartets, and other chamber works. Along with Antonín Dvořák and Bedřich Smetana, he is considered one of the most important Czech composers.

Composer full Name: Leoš Janáček baptised Leo Eugen Janáček
Date of Birth: 03 July 1854
Date of Death: 12 August 1928
Nationality: Czech
Period/Era/Style: Late Romantic
Biography: Early life   |   Later years and masterworks   |   Personality    |   Style   |   Inspiration   |   Folklore   |   Russia   |   Other composers   |   Legacy   |   Criticism   |   Music theorist   |   Musicology   |   Other writings   |   Folk music research


Orchestral Works
Chamber Works
Piano Works
Choral/Vocal Works

Most Recent Maestro68 Postings: 


Quick Buttons To External Info Sites:

wiki2    imslp  

Audio Store Items Featuring This Composer:

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: