Musical Form: Mass – Cherubini: Requiem in C minor for mixed voices

The Requiem in C minor for mixed chorus was written by Luigi Cherubini in 1815 and premiered 21 January 1816 at a commemoration service for Louis XVI of France. Cherubini’s setting of the requiem was considered by Beethoven to be superior to Mozart’s.

Beethoven listened to Cherubini’s operas with the keenest attention (the evidence is there in Fidelio) and declared that if ever he should write a Requiem his model would be Cherubini’s C minor setting. Hearing this music, with its extraordinary emotional depth and power, it is easy to understand Beethoven’s esteem.

Work Name: Requiem in C minor for mixed chorus

Key: C minor

Form: Requiem Mass

Composer: Luigi Cherubini

Year: 1815

Period: Classical/Romantic

Catalogue #: n/a



This particular setting of the requiem mass consists of seven movements:

Each movement’s starting time follows.

  1. I. Introitus et Kyrie – 0:00
  2. II. Graduale – 7:35
  3. III. Dies irae – 8:52
  4. IV. Domine Jesu Christe – 16:46 – Hostias – 22:40
  5. V. Sanctus et Benedictus – 29:27
  6. VI. Pie Jesu – 30:41
  7. VII. Agnus Dei – 34:08

In 1820 a funeral march and a motet In Paradisum were added. In 1834 the work was prohibited by the archbishop of Paris because of its use of women’s voices, and in 1836 Cherubini wrote a second Requiem in D minor for men’s chorus.
error: Content is protected !! Contact if you wish to download this content
%d bloggers like this: