Musical Form: Sonata – Rachmaninoff: Sonata in G minor for Cello and Piano, Op. 19

Sergei Rachmaninoff’s Cello Sonata in G minor, Op. 19, a sonata for cello and piano, was completed in November 1901[1] and published a year later.

Rachmaninoff disliked calling it a cello sonata because he thought the two instruments were equal. Because of this, it is often referred to as Sonata in G minor for Cello and Piano. Most of the themes are introduced by the piano, while they are embellished and expanded in the cello’s part.

♭/Cello_Sonata%2C_Mvt._4_-_Rachmaninoff.png/380px-Cello_Sonata%2C_Mvt._4_-_Rachmaninoff.png" srcset="// 1.5x, // 2x" width="615" height="228" />

As typical of sonatas in the Romantic period, it has four movements:

1. Lento – Allegro moderato (G minor)

2. Allegro scherzando (C minor)

3. Andante (E major)

4. Allegro mosso (G major)

The work takes approximately 30 minutes to perform.
error: Content is protected !! Contact if you wish to download this content
%d bloggers like this: